Saturday, December 31, 2011

Happy New Year!

Just wanted to tell everyone Happy New Year from Kayla's Reads and Reviews. I hope everyone has a great year. Here's to a lot of fun reading in the year to come!

Keeper of Infinity by Haley Weilmuenster

Do you believe in the afterlife? Is it someplace called Heaven, or possibly Home? Two teenagers meet upon their death in a place where they must decide their final destination. They come from the same hometown, but very different backgrounds. However, unbeknownst to them, there is a possibility their paths have crossed and the same people or events have touched each of their lives. Haley Weilmuenster has written this tale of two seemingly lost young souls who find each other under the strangest of circumstances.

As the story unfolds, providing the backdrop leading up to their meeting, the author weaves a masterful tale that leaves the reader cheering for a good outcome. Can love conquer all?
(Synopsis taken from Goodreads)

My Thoughts:
This book is very depressing, but in a good way. It makes you think and reflect about your life and what would be in your file cabinets when you get to Heaven, or Home as it's called in the book. The beginning of this book started off a little slow and weird for me. At first,  I didn't like how the events were ordered, but towards the end of the story, everything starts making sense. The characters were decently written, and very strong characters. Both of the characters went through hell while they were on earth, but were brave enough to face the memories from it in death. I wish the author would have gone into a little more detail about Airyn's family life. Throughout the book, the author made it seem like her and her parents were close, but towards the end she comes home hungover, and they run out the door and don't even notice. It kind of made me think they might not have paid as much attention to her as she thought they did. I felt sorry for Trent and what he had to go through with his father. The ending left me a little confused as to which choice Airyn picked. I thought this was a great short read published by Dorrance Publishing. Fans of Ellen Hopkins and By the Time You Read This, I'll Be Dead by Julie Anne Peters will love this book.

I give Keeper of Infinity: 3/5.

Want to know where to buy this book?
Barnes and Noble:
Dorrance Publishing:

I received this book in exchange for an honest review and was in no way compensated for this review.

Friday, December 30, 2011

Top 10 books I'm looking forward to in 2012

These are all incredible books that I can't wait to read.

10. A Memory of Light by Robert Jordan and Brandon Sanderson
I have a lot of catching up to do in this series. I'm only on book three, but I'm hoping to be caught up by the time this comes out. It seems like an amazing series so far. The main reason why I'm looking forward to it though, is not because of me. It's because of the look on my fiancee's face when he gets it. I know it's going to be great because The Wheel of Time is his favorite series.

9. The Wind Through the Keyhole by Stephen King
I am a big Stephen King fan and am very excited that he decided to write another Dark Tower novel. I can't wait to see how he creates the story that was missed in between books four and five.

8. Fracture by Megan Miranda
I've heard mixed reviews about this book so far. Some people love it and some people hate it. The plot of this story seems very interesting to me. I can't wait read it and find out what Troy's ulterior motives are and more details of what happens in the book.

7. Jessica Rules the Dark Side by Beth Fantaskey
This is also another book where the first book in the series is just sitting on my bookshelf waiting to be read. I've heard nothing but good things about the first book, and am expecting to start and finish it by the time this comes out. Besides, how could I resist buying a book with an amazing cover such as this one?

6. Fated by Alyson Noel
I love everything that Alyson Noel has wrote so far, especially her Immortals series. When I heard she was coming out with a new series, of course I had to put it on my TBR list. The plot of the story sounds very intriguing to me. I can't wait to see how this differs from her Immortals series and her Riley Bloom series. I have my expectations high that it will be just as great as the rest of her work.

5. City of Lost Souls by Cassandra Clare
I love this series almost as much as I loved the Harry Potter series when I was younger. That being said, of course I can't wait for the next TMI book. I'm so excited to find out what happens, and have been loving the teasers that Cassandra Clare posts every once in a while.

4. Matched #3 by Ally Condie
Unfortunately, this book currently doesn't have a title. Honestly, Crossed was a disappointment for me. I had my expectations up high, and the book just didn't deliver as much as I wanted it to. I still can't wait for the final book in the trilogy just to find out what happens. I'm curious to find out what happens with the uprising, and if the society is overthrown.  Also, I am dying to find out if Cassia stays with Ky or if she gets together with Xander.

3. Endlessly by Kiersten White
This is another series that I will be very sad when it ends in 2012. This has been a wonderful series, and I am very excited to find out how it ends. I want to know if Evie goes back to IPCA to work full time, or if she stays with Lend in the town his father lives in. I have a feeling this book will share even more about her past, and answer some questions that everyone has been asking

2. The Golden Lily by Richelle Mead
I have always been a fan of the Vampire Academy series, so when Bloodlines came out I had to get it. Needless to say, I was not disappointed. It was an incredible book and the ending left me with my mouth hanging open. I can't wait to see how the ending of Bloodlines contributes to the plot of The Golden Lily, and to see if Sydney and Adrian have a more than friend relationship, or just stay friends.

1. Pandemonium by Lauren Oliver
Wow, I can not wait to read this book. The ending of Delirium left me a sobbing mess in need of tissues. I can't wait to see where the story progresses from there. Does Lena fall in love again? Does she help to stop the government from curing people of falling in love? I hope all these questions and more will be answered, and can't wait to find out.

Exiled by RaShelle Workman

Worlds divided them. Chance brought them together. Only love will save them.

An alien princess exiled to Earth.
An arrogant boy.
One week to get back to her planet or she'll die.
And, her only chance for survival? She must help the boy find his soul mate.
Piece of cake!
(Synopsis take from Goodreads)

My Thoughts:
First of all, I must point out the obvious. This cover is absolutely stunning. It's what made me want to pick up the book in the first place. When I finally read the book, it definitely didn't disappoint either. The characters were witty and funny. Venus even though she was sick, wasn't whiny and made a lot of wisecracks that had me chuckling. The only character that I found annoying was Cheverly because she seemed like a main character, but she wasn't explained very well. I thought I was going to find the book not to my liking after reading the synopsis, but the author pulled off the plot very well. She makes you feel like you're right there, experiencing all the characters emotions. I so excited to learn whether Venus picks Michael or Zaren. I'm curious in the next book to find out more about Michael's past and why he doesn't get hurt as easily as a normal person would. I can't wait to read the next book, Beguiled, and fall back into the story.

I give Exiled: 5/5.

Want to know more about the author?

I recieved this book in exchange for an honest review, and was in no way compensated for this review.

Death by Cake by Melanie Ray

Warning! Reading story may make you actually crave sweets. Hippie hero, death by sweets, never ending childhood for young and old, and an interesting hit on the newest resident? Welcome to Lost Secret girls and boys! Shari Kari is in trouble. She just broke up with her boyfriend, but now he's got a hit on her. Her supportive sister tells her to get out of Calibri City and into a small safe town: Lost Secret. Famous for being the one-stop drop town for the rich and famous' children. No crime. Where even adults act like children. She finds a friend in Timothy Varmen, and a semi-happy life, until her special condition gets out of control. Ezekiel is the town's hero. While acting like a big child himself, he's taken on the extra duty of trying to 'save' the new local resident, whether she likes it or not. In this town, a man must learn to grow up, and a woman must learn to grow down. Scandals, inhibitions, temptations... A story of childhood...that's not for children.
(Synopsis taken from Goodreads)

My Thoughts:
First of all, I must admit the warning is true. I ate a lot of junk food while reading this. I thought this book was absolutely wonderful. It was the most orginal novel I've read in years. The plot was wacky, but the writing was good enough to make it work. The disease Shari has, JNSQ, is obviously made up, but the author makes you almost believe it's a real disease. I liked how most of the characters were very innocent. Even when something came up, like Shari's ex not liking that she couldn't have sex, it took Zeke a while to figure out what she was talking about. The only characters I didn't care for were Shari's sister, Tracy, and Timothy. I thought they were both whiny, especially Timothy. I'm hoping in the next book, Shari breaks up with Timothy and gets together with Zeke. The book ended on a cliffhanger, and I can't wait to read book two to find out what happens.

I give Death By Cake: 4/5.

Book Trailer:

Want to know where to buy the book?

I recieved this book in exchange for an honest review and was in no way compensated for this review.